This is the final stage of removing users from the platform. Users who have been erased cannot be restored. A user account can only be erased once it has been deleted, and only by the contact(s) associated with the user domain. Erased users will no longer appear in the main platform, but will still be included in billing statistics. If you want to restore a deleted account check out this article Restore Deleted Users.
In order to erase users, the logged-in you must have the "Erase deleted users" permission and must be a primary domain contact for the users to be erased, check out this article for more information about setting up domain contacts and email notification Deleting Users. Users who are domain contacts and have the required permission will be able to click on Management console and then User Management. They will be able to choose the Erase deleted users option in the menu.
Clicking on this option will bring up a page with an interface for searching for deleted users by date deleted, keyword and associated domain. Click Search for deleted users.
The search results will be displayed in a table, with an 'Erase' button at the bottom. Unchecking the checkboxes for individual users will stop them from being erased.
Clicking on the 'Erase' button will bring up a popup screen with a warning message and a list of the users who are about to be erased. At this point the user can click 'Cancel' to go back, or 'Erase' to confirm erasure.
If the user action is successful, the user search page will appear. If unsuccessful, a prompt will appear with the message 'User operation not performed'.
Consequences of User Erasure
- Erased user accounts cannot be restored.
- Erased users can no longer be searched for in 'User Management', and will not appear or be counted in any reports under 'Management information'.
- The 'Administrator activity' option in the 'Edit user' menu shows records of activity for a selected user. All references to erased users in this page will be anonymised as shown below:
- The 'Administrator activity' option in the 'Management Information' menu reports activity for all users and specified actions. All references to deleted/erased users in this page will be anonymised as shown below